School Board Recognition

click to share
School Board Recognition
Posted on 01/10/2017

In honor of School Board Appreciation Month, the Calhoun County ISD Board of Trustees were recognized by campuses and departments at the January 9 Board Meeting.

The board is applauded for their year-round commitment to our children and public schools. As elected officials, board members are the voice of their communities, serving first and foremost in the best interest of Texas schoolchildren. They shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices. Their ultimate goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district.

In Calhoun County, school board members provide strategic direction for 3,960 students, 575 employees, seven campuses and an annual budget of $41.5 million.

In 2016, with the board of trustees’ support, Calhoun County ISD achieved several academic and extracurricular honors. Port O’Connor Elementary was recognized with achieving 100% passing rate on the STAAR exam and multiple campuses received distinction designations from the Texas Education Agency. Calhoun High School won the Academic UIL District Championship and all four Travis Middle School track teams placed first at the District Track Meet. Two hundred and forty graduated from Calhoun High School and 35 graduated from Hope High School.

“School Board Appreciation Month provides a good opportunity to recognize our board members for their vison, leadership and many years of volunteer service to the community,” said Dr. James Cowley, Calhoun County ISD Superintendent of Schools. “They serve an important role that strengthens the connection between the community and the classroom.”

Sincere appreciation is extended to the following Calhoun County ISD School Board members: Joe Ortiz, President (District 2); Dr. Bill Harvey, Vice-President (District 3); Janie Delgado, Secretary (District 6); Jesse Briseno, Jr. (District 1); Lina Moore (District 4); Mike Mueller, (District 5); David Gaskamp (At-large).